Arthur L. Basham Medal

Arthur L. Basham Medal

The Arthur L. Basham Medal was instituted by Prof. Paul U. Unschuld during his period as President of IASTAM. The award is intended to preserve the memory of Professor Arthur Llewellyn Basham (1914-1986), co-founder of IASTAM with Prof. Charles Leslie, and to honour his contribution to the field of Asian medicine. It is awarded in recognition of special contributions by IASTAM members to promoting the Association’s goals, such as outstanding studies in the social and cultural history of traditional Asian medicine.

IASTAM’s Constitution specifies that the award is to be made, when so merited, on the occasion of the ICTAM meetings. The medal has so far been awarded to the following outstanding scholars in the field of Asian Medicine:

  • ICTAM VIII (2013): Vivienne Lo
  • ICTAM VII (2009): Vincanne Adams
  • ICTAM VI (2006): Narendra Bhatt & Zheng Jinsheng
  • ICTAM V (2002): Dominik Wujastyk
  • ICTAM IV (1994): Patricia and Roger Jeffery & Shigehisa Kuriyama
  • ICTAM III (1990): Jan Meulenbeld & Yamada Keiji

The recipient is presented with a specially-designed medal, and it has also become customary for the recipient, whose name is publically announced at ICTAM, to present a Basham Award Lecture at the ICTAM meeting.

The medal normally alternates between Asian and Western scholars. We are therefore inviting nominations of suitable Asian scholars for ICTAM IX, which will take place in Kiel, Germany, from 6th to 12th August 2017. All currently-financial members of IASTAM are eligible to make nominations. A formal call for nominations will be issued early in 2017; the recipient will be decided by a vote of the IASTAM Council, and announced at the Kiel ICTAM.

Impressions of ICTAM IX

  • Impressions of ICTAM IX, 2017, by Matthias Burmeister, ICTAM IX Filmteam

Trailer ICTAM IX, 2017

  • Trailer for ICTAM - International Congress on Traditional Asian Medicines in Kiel, 06.-12.08. 2016 from Hannah Bittner on Vime